The EARTH without ART is just EH

In the past few years I’ve found myself to be very into photography, as an amateur, of course. I’ve been given a camera for my 15th birthday, and right after that I decided, that my commitment is to take photos of everything and everyone I see. And then put them online, indeed. So I started looking for an appropriate platform that would allow publishing works, receiving and leaving feedback and observing creations of other people. From all of the many websites I chose DeviantArt.

deviantart_logo_detail

DeviantArt (originally deviantART) was launched on August 7, 2000 in Los Angeles, California and was defined as “the world’s largest online art gallery and community”. In July 2011 it was the 13th largest social network, and by 2013 the number of users reached 25 million. Quite impressive for an art gallery, huh? Artworks on DeviantArt may include photography, digital art, traditional art, literature, filmmaking and any other type of art imaginable. DeviantArt was one of the first social networks in the 21st century to introduce such functions as messaging centre, emoticons, galleries for photos and videos, square avatar icons and personalized profiles. However, one of the few disadvantages is the fact that DeviantArt doesn’t have any review for potential copyright, so artworks can be violated unless reported.

Why do I consider DeviantArt to be an online community? The answer’s quite simple – it’s users interact with each other. Directly – by sharing, comenting and liking artworks, indirectly – by simply inspiring or being inspired by someone else’s painitng or photograph. I think, this kind of inspiration is much more valuable than the one you get from cheeky quotes on such platforms as Tumblr. It is so, because you know that this amazing photograph of sunset or this painting of a girl were made my real people, who you may contact and share your amazement with.

What do you think? Have you ever used DeviantArt or any other similar platforms? If so, what did you use it for?

stars_by_t1na-d7ujb9p

Artwork by t1na, DeviantArt.

1 Comment

  1. I have heard of DeviantArt but have never visited the site. Actually, I thought it was a clothing company. I’m glad you mentioned the copyright issues with this online community because that was my biggest concern while I was reading your post. I am surprised that the site has had such success with no form of protection for people’s work. This gives me the impression that there is a unspoken code within the community about respecting other’s works. I know you mentioned you can report things but this definitely doesn’t always provide enough protection. It is interesting to see how people’s respect levels and environments determine their behavior online.

    Like

Leave a Reply

