Tumblr

tumblr logo

It could be said that Tumblr is a website where online communities can be found. At least, it was what I first thought of when I was thinking about online communities.

Tumblr is a blogging platform as well as a social networking site. It was founded by David Karp in February 2007 and was acquired by Yahoo! in 2013 for around $1 billion.

The main reason that I think of Tumblr as being a website of online communities is because of the way the website is used by ‘fandoms’. Fandoms are groups of fans of almost anything, from TV shows to movie franchises, to books and musicians. Hundreds of fandoms use Tumblr in a way that is almost like an online community.

As it is a social networking site, this isn’t abnormal. Like Twitter, you can message people who may have a similar interest or blog type and users find a common interest with the thousands of other users who blog about the same thing.

The style of blogposts are also in a conversational style, and the way you can build your own blog shows that there is a more personal side to the website, where users can interact with each other.

5 Comments

  1. I like this website a lot. I see your point, but I think of it as a community because of other reasons. Yes, you see a lot of fandoms or music or tv shows, but there are also different blogs that are focus on other interests like fashion, food, even cars! The way I see it,Tumblr is a website that brings a lot of different communities into one

    Like

  2. At first I never saw Tumblr as a community, but after reading your post I understand how it can be seen in this way. I personally never have had a Tumblr, but I would always go on to other peoples pages for fashion inspiration and just to read cool quotes. When i was younger I always wanted to be part of Tumblr, I guess it gives that feeling of togetherness becasue everyone has the same specific interests.

    Like

  3. Tumblr is a great example of online communities. From my experience of this website, it seems contains a rich amount of niche groups that you’re unable to find on any other online platform. I agree with your point that this website feels as if it has a ‘more personal’ feel to it. But, i feel that this is the reason it attracts so many young people. It’s a platform that helps young people express and show others what type of person they are, in the hope of meeting others who’re like them.

    Like

  4. Tumblr is a great example of online community as it is not like the other online communities, for example Facebook and Twitter. Tumblr is more a way of fans communicating with each other about things they have in common and finally finding someone who shares the same interest in them whether that be a to show or musical artist. Communication is usually shown through pictures and GIFS on Tumblr.

    Like

  5. I’ve never used Tumblr before, but I do sometimes access some of them and I often see quite cool pictures and quotes.
    However, I would never think about Tumblr as being an online community once I didn’t even know it was possible to have an interaction between the users. Also, I didn’t know about the interaction between ‘fandoms’ which definitely makes it a great example of a community and people coming together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

