Internet: Evoking fun and fear

I must say that I never really stopped to reflect about what kind of information I am sharing in my social media. I’ve never been really worried about my privacy and neither about the danger of making available so much information about me without properly knowing who is able to access it.

Regarding social media platforms, Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat are the ones I use the most. At the moment, I honestly don’t know what exactly are my Facebook’s privacy settings. There are probably few pictures publicly available, such as my profiles’ ones and I think “only friends would see” my albums with more pictures. However, I’ve just realised that some of my personal information –such as where I have lived, where I am currently living, where I studied in the past, where I’m studying now and few places I’ve been working for– are all available for everyone that sees my profile (and definitely to have just realised it now does not sound really good).

My Instagram account is not private, so I don’t have to approve who can see my photos and videos and, therefore, everyone can see. However, on my Instagram, there’s not as much information as there are on my Facebook. I don’t often post pictures and the ones I post are not really relevant in terms of saying much about my personal life. Also, I have heard from one of my lecturers that it is interesting, if you are applying for jobs in the creative industry, for you to put your Instagram account on your CV, so the employer can know a bit more about you.

I believe I do have a kind of control of my personal information available online. At the same time, I think we are all under a certain danger. We will never be 100% sure if what we share on the internet is really protected, even saying it is “restricted to chosen friends only”. In other words, I believe that if someone wants to have information about you, there are internet engines able to unblock any type of privacy settings, not only in social media but also in other various platforms on the web. Maybe the following image, with which I’ll finish this post, illustrates even better what I mean.

privacy

1 Comment

  1. I totally agree with you: everything we post on the Internet, is not in our domain anymore. While is good to set our privacy settings carefully to don’t show everyone our life and risking cat fishing and so on, there are so many information in the social media platforms managers and any Internet experts can, I believe, found about us. Once our information are on the Internet, it is very difficult to understand who will have access to them and use them.

    I would suggest a reading from a Forbes article of 2014 about this: it is called “There is not privacy on the Internet of Things” http://www.forbes.com/sites/danielnewman/2014/08/20/there-is-no-privacy-on-the-internet-of-things/#784be456b4ed

    Like

Leave a Reply

