New York Times

I must say that it took me a while to understand what the Creative Commons License is and to be honest; I still don’t quite get it. However, this week I want to write about New York Times which have devised a smart marketing strategy which operates under both creative commons and strict copyrights. So basically, I am a news junkie and have about 10 news apps on my phone. NY Times is easily my favourite but uh-oh I have to pay for it! So I resort to other sources such as Guardian, Sky, BBC, Politico, etc.

But did you know? You can access first 10 news articles every month, for free on you NYT app on mobile. After you’ve read these 10, you need to subscribe to NYT to read further. How smart is this? In terms of a copyright model, New York Times let’s us read any 10 articles for free under the Creative Common license after which it imposes strict copyright on what we read as we have to subscribe and pay for it. The limit of 10 articles is renewed every month, i.e. you get 10 free articles a month, which are 120 articles per year!

This is a great marketing strategy as these 10 articles lead to a lot more business for NYT. The reader is hooked to YT after they finish their free limit and want to read more. This helps NYT to increase their reach (as people read free stuff) and then, increase their business and protect their quality (as people want to continue reading and end up subscribing). The truth is this model works for New York Times because they are a huge brand and people trust it due to their quality. This is a great example of how a media organization exercises strict copyright while using the Creative Commons to compliment their model.

If you ask me, I just wait for the next month to read the next 10 articles but I know that if I weren’t broke, I would subscribe to NYT no matter what the charge. For now, 10-a-month is as happy as I can be!

 

Leave a Reply

