The New Yorker

The New Yorker is a weekly print and online magazine. It covers everything from reporting on  politics, to fictional love stories to humorous cartoons. What is does offer is a distinctive style and absolutely fantastic writing. I will concentrate on the online edition for the purpose of this post. What frustrated me when I first came across The New Yorker was that was that I could only read ten articles before it asked me to subscribe and pay to read (12 weeks for just $12!). I know this is a relatively cheap price (I’m not sure how that would work out paying in English pounds!), but the problem was that I was used to reading news and pop culture articles online for free so why should I pay? I know that the people working on the magazine  need to be paid so I understand why there is a fee and that it is original work that is being paid for but I was just not happy paying it. I wonder if The New Yorker was shared with fewer restrictions under a creative commons  license it would prove more of a useful tool and an inspiration to all aspiring writers and journalists. I feel by limiting their audience they may be limiting their creativity also. As there are lots of alternative free magazines out there, are they scaring away their younger audience?

2 Comments

  1. I see what you mean here. I think that if they were to actually have it for free for anyone to use, they would lose revenue and this may therefore result in them having to lose some of their journalists. I would then feel that the quality of their news may then be affected. So if the fee works for them and they continue to get the numbers, maybe there isn’t a problem as such?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think New Yorker has established itself as a brand that we look out for. Hence, many (including I) pay to access its content. As a matter of fact, its online content that is free is usually very different from its printed half where we actually have to pay for it. Do you think organisations change its content from free to charged medium to protect their copyrights?

    Like

Leave a Reply

