Could you survive ?

To be honest at first I didn’t think I would enjoy writing these blog posts, I thought it would be a complete bore. However this has not been the case and instead I have found it very interesting, reading other people’s thoughts and opinions has been very fascinating and educational. For this blogpost I didn’t know what to write, so I decided to focus on my favourite lecture from this module which was media convergence.

This topic made me realise how much technology has advanced within our society, and how teenagers are fully immersed in their phones they forget to appreciate the little things in life. For example as soon as I wake up the first thing I do is check my social media accounts, Facebook first, next twitter and lastly Instagram. This has become my routine every morning, and if I ever forget to do this, I feel as if I haven’t started my day right. This just shows how addicted I am to social media, even after I have my morning check-up , I still have to look at my phone and my social media platforms constantly throughout the day.

And so sometimes I wonder whether or not the advancement in technology and the media is a good thing? Yes there has been positive outcomes, such as the ability to connect with your family and friends at the click of a button. But personally I think the negative outcomes such as bullying, identity theft and privacy breach outweigh the negatives. Ask yourself this question would you be able to survive without the internet, social media and our mobile phones?

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. I agree with you i wasn’t excited about doing the blog posts to start with, although i found myself to really enjoy posting my opinions and commenting on others to share my insight! Your insight on how much technology has advanced is so true!

    Like

  2. As like you said and the other comment mentioned, the idea of writing blog posts each week didn’t really excite me. But once I got into doing them I enjoyed sharing my opinions and reading the opinions of others in my seminar group. As for technology advances, I agree there are many advantages and disadvantages of how much technology has advanced

    Like

Leave a Reply

